top of page

2018 Student Design Competition Winners Announced!

Our thanks to the Atlanta | Southeast Chapter for assembling a blue-chip judging panel which met June 2 at the Atlanta office of Cushman & Wakefield to review the 50 entries representing dozens of design schools and the work of individuals and student groups. This year’s competition – to design a gourmet grocer – was inspired by the real-world acquisition of Whole Foods Market by Amazon. Specials thanks to Ryan Cavanaugh, AIA, RDI, design manager, Gensler and Lindsay Henningfeld, RDI, corporate visual merchandiser, SunTrust Banks, Atlanta. They are president and vice president, respectively, of the Atlanta |Southeast Chapter.

The first place (individual) prize goes to Maria Tatum, Washington State University, for "Good Goods -- Good Food. Good Life." Second place (individual) prize goes to Shelby Ruiz, Washington State University for "Unpackaged Wellness." Third place (individual) prize goes to Liana Haugaard, Washington State University for "Mindful Market." All three are students of Professor Matt Melcher. Earning an individual merit recognition for "Lunch Box," was Olivia Perron of Florida State University. Her professor is Steven Webber. And the first ever Mark V. Looper Award for Design Collaboration goes to Oscar Rosales and Josh Haag for "Home Fresh." They are Santa Monica College students of Professor Sheila Cordova.

Comments Cavanaugh, “(The students) identified what was successful, and unsuccessful about grocery now and attempted to try something new by looking through the lens of where retail is headed overall.” Technology was a big part of that, he continues, “The successful students definitely put thought into how technology could work, not just in terms of forcing customers to shop a certain way, but how technology could plug into any type of shopper to make the experience more enjoyable.”

Judges were: Shona Callahan, retail design manager, SunTrust Banks, Atlanta; Alison Embrey Medina, editor, design:retail, magazine, Alpharetta, Ga.; Andrew McQuilkin, FRDI, Student Design Competition Chair, Ohio Chapter president, retail leader, BHDP Architecture, Cincinnati; Sharon Lessard, RDI, International Vice President, Retail Design Institute, senior associate, studio director and retail practice area leader, Gensler, Atlanta; Kathleen Jordan, AIA, RDI, principal, Gensler, Charlotte, N.C.; Gwen Newland, director, Chick-fil-A, Atlanta; Murray Kasmenn, senior vice president, group publisher, ST Media, Cincinnati; Bill Clark, AIA, president, AIA, Atlanta, principal, Stevens & Clark, Atlanta; Gabriela M. Meneghetti, RDI, Northern California Chapter President, 2019 Student Design Competition Chair, corporate growth strategy & digital enterprise experience, Ernest & Young, LLP, San Francisco; Cas Swope, IIDA, IIDA president elect, senior interior designer, Praxis3, Atlanta; Kimberly Quick, senior project manager, Cushman & Wakefield, Atlanta. And ourthanks to Katie Taylor, Gensler, Atlanta, for her support. We’d like to recognize sponsors Meredith Campell, AllSteel; Chelsea Moore, Mohawk; Juan Pablo Berjarano, Porcelanosa; and John Cantrell, Shaw Flooring.

4 views0 comments


bottom of page